Employers have some wiggle room when they design their pay structures and policies. Still, they are governed by strict federal and state laws that regulate the overall payroll process and define employees' rights, including overtime pay.
Are You Getting the Overtime Pay You Deserve?
In California, non-exempt employees should be paid one and one-half times their regular pay rate for all hours worked over eight hours in any workday and over 40 hours in the workweek. In addition, employers are required to provide double the employee's regular pay rate for all hours worked over 12 hours in any workday and for all hours worked over eight on the seventh consecutive day of work in one workweek.
5 Signs You Aren't Getting the Overtime Pay You've Earned:
Are you getting paid the overtime pay you deserve? Watch for some of the common warning signs below. These warning signs could indicate that you aren't being paid according to federal and state employment law requirements.
- You are classified as exempt, but you are not a freelancer or independent contractor in charge of your work schedule, environment, and work processes.
- You are regularly asked to perform work tasks after hours without clocking back in.
- You are specifically asked to clock out at certain times even if you are not leaving work.
- You are expected to respond to work correspondence or calls from your personal phone whenever they arrive.
- You must fulfill a list of "pre-work" tasks before clocking in for the day.
- You don't receive a detailed wage statement outlining your hours, pay rate, etc. or the wage statement you receive is inaccurate or missing details.
If you aren't being paid the overtime pay you deserve, and you need to file a California overtime pay lawsuit, get in touch with Moss Bollinger, Oxnard, California employment law attorney. He's dedicated to protecting and asserting the rights of his clients. Call 866-942-7974 today for a free consultation or contact us online.